Contact Us Press Releases AFRICOM Portal

The Africa Union Mission to Somalia is comprised of several African countries who provide military support, including: Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, and Uganda (with Sierra Leone, Nigeria, and Ghana providing police assistance). AMISOM has made dramatic strides in its mission to promote greater security in Somalia. The U.S. along with our international partners are working with the Federal Government of Somalia to establish an environment that will set the conditions to allow AMISOM to transition the responsibility for Somalia's defense to the Somali National Security Forces